Contact Us


Shine like stars

Lowdham C of E Primary School

‘Shine Like Stars’


Governor Roles Overview

The governing body has a range of duties and powers and a general responsibility for the conduct of the school with a view to promoting high standards of educational achievement.

Its responsibilities include but are not limited to:

  • setting targets for pupil achievement
  • managing the school’s finances
  • making sure the curriculum is balanced and broadly based
  • appointing staff
  • reviewing staff performance and pay



As a Church of England school we have a majority of “Foundation Governors” appointed by the Church Council of St. Mary’s and the Diocese of Southwell and Nottingham.  Other “Representative Governors” include those representing staff and the Local Authority. Each term of office is for 4 years. A full list of Governors with linked areas and committees (Pupil and Personnel, Strategic Development and Finance and General Purposes) in brackets follows:


Chair (Foundation)
Julie Vickery (P&P, Safeguarding, Behaviour and CLA)*


Vice Chair (Foundation)
Jerome Green (F&GP, Science)*


Head Teacher: Ben Waldram


Staff Governor
Michael Davey (SDC)



Ian Burrows (P&P, F&GP Health and Safety) **
Father Matthew Askey (P&P, RE and Collective Worship)

Mandy Meyer (P&P, SEND)

Nicola Grange (F&GP, Church link governor)


Local Education Authority
Helen Westbury (P&P, English)*


Alison Glazebrook (F&GP, ICT)


Parent Governors                                                                                                           

Nicky Gale (SDC, Assessment, Complaints)                                                                                          

Alex Holland


*Head’s Appraisal governors

**Ian is married to Andrea Burrows, Assistant Head. Our register of business interests, reviewed annually, shows that there are no relevant business interests and no governor is a member of another educational establishment.


The Pay Committee is made up of the chairs of each committee and meets annually.